History & Legacy

History & Legacy

Our Inspiration


Founder, Trustee & Chief Patron, MAEER’s MIT Pune,

UNESCO Chair Holder for Human rights, Democracy & Peace

Prof. Vishwanath D. Karad is an internationally acclaimed educationist, visionary, and highly devoted teacher of repute. Prof. Karad has been a champion of promoting interfaith dialogues, universal brotherhood and understanding through value-based education of students and the society at large, making them realise the role of science and spirituality in establishing a peace-loving, holistic society.

As the Founder-President of MAEER, he conceptualized and put into effect a unique Music Academy at Rajbaug, Loni to promote the time-tested values and ethos of Indian Classical Music and Dance.

This academy known as Vishwashanti Sangeet Kala Academy had Bharat Ratna Smt. Lata Mangeshkar as the Chairperson. Prof. Dr. Vishwanath D. Karad is a highly revered and respected teacher of repute, who has inspired and motivated thousands of students to develop their winning personalities by making them physically strong, mentally alert, intellectually sharp and spiritually elevated.

The establishment of the World Peace Centre of MAEERs MIT, Pune, India on 1st of December 1996, at the First Parliament of Science, Religion and Philosophy, under the Chairmanship of Prof. Vishwanath Karad, emphasising the importance of value-based universal education system in promoting the Culture of Peace in the global society, has been one of the most prolific contributions towards the well-being of the society.

History & Legacy

  • Maharashtra Institute of Technology, Pune (1983)
  • New English School, Guruwar Peth, Ambajogai (1983)
  • MIT School of Management, Pune (MITSOM) (1987)
  • Shri. Kshetra Dehu-Alandi Parisar Vikas Samiti, Pune (1987)
  • MIT School of Business, Pune (MITSOB) (1987)
  • MIMSR and Shree Yeshwantrao Chavan Rural Hospital, Medical College, Latur (1990)
  • Shree Sant Dnyaneshwar Madhyamik Vidyalaya, Pune (1991)
  • Shree Swami Vivekananda Prathamik Vidyalaya, Pune (1991)
  • Shree Saraswati New English School, Pune (1991)
  • MIT Pre-Primary School, Pune (1991)
  • Shree Sharada Prathamik, Vidyalaya, Pune (1991)
  • Swami Vivekananda Academy, Aurangabad (1992)
  • Shree Saraswati Secondary and Higher Secondary School, Rameshwar, Latur (1992)
  • MIT Junior College of Science and Commerce, Pune (1994)
  • MIT Skills, Pune (1994)
  • Maharashtra Institute of Medical Education and Research, (MIMER-Medical College) and Dr. Bhausaheb Sardesai Talegaon Rural Hospital, Talegaon Dabhade, Pune (1995)
  • Sant Shri Dnyaneshwar-Tukaram Endowment Lecture Series Trust, Pune (1996)
  • Sn Savitribai Phule Polytechnic, Pune ISSPP (1996)
  • World Peace Centre (Alandi) MAEER MIT, Pune (1996)
  • Maharashtra Institute of Pharmacy, Pune (1997)
  • Shree Eknathrao Avhad Vidyanag, Ahmednagar (1999)
  • MIT Academy of Engineering, Alandi, Pune ( MITAOE), (1999)
  • Shrimati Prayag Karad Vishwashanti Gurukul, Barshi (1998)
  • Shri Saint Dnyaneshwar World Peace Eco Park, Pune (1999)
  • Maharashtra Institute of Nursing Sciences, Latur (2000)
  • Maharashtra Institute of Nursing Sciences, Latur (2000)
  • Maharashtra Academy of Naval Education and Training, Pune (Manet) (2001)
  • MIT College of Engineering, Pune (MITCOE) (2001)
  • Late Dadarao Karad Vidyalaya (Marathi Medium), Ambajogai (2003)
  • Shree Saraswati Karad Madhyamik Vidyalaya, Barshi (2003)
  • MAAER's MIT School of Management, Pune (MITSOM) (2004)
  • Shree Mukundraj Madhyamik Vidyalaya and Higher Secondary School, Latur (2004)
  • Shree Saraswati Public School, Ambajogai (2004)
  • MIT Jansanwad College, Latur (2004)
  • Robocon (2005)
  • MIT School of Government, Pune (MITSOG) (2005)
  • Vishwashanti Gurukul (IB School), Pune (2006)
  • College of Physiotherapy, Talegaon (D), Pune (2006)
  • Maharashtra Institute of Physiotherapy, Latur (2006)
  • MIT College of Food Technology, Pune (2006)
  • MIT Institute of Design, Pune (2006)
  • Late Dadarao Karad D.Ed College, Rameshwar, Latur (2007)
  • MIT D.Ed College, Pune (2007)
  • MIT B.Ed, M.Ed College, Pune (2007)
  • Smt. Prayag Akka Karad D.Ed College, Latur (2007)
  • MIT Arts Commerce and Science College, Pune (2007)
  • MIT College of Management (MITCOM), Pune (2007)
  • Shri Saraswati Teachers Education B.Ed College, Ambajogai (2007)
  • MIT International School of Journalism and Broadcasting, Pune (2008)
  • Vishwashanti Gurukul Teachers Training Academy (VGTTA) B.Ed College, Pune (2008)
  • MIT B.Tech Centre, Pune (2008)
  • Yashwantrao Chavan D.Ed College, Barshi (2008)
  • MIT Saint Dnyaneshwar B.Ed College, Pune (2009)
  • MIT School of Health Sciences (MITSHS), Pune (2010)
  • MIT Vishwanshanti Sangeet Kala Academy, Pune (2013)
  • MIT School of Technology Management, Pune (MITSOT) (2010)
  • MIT School of Photography (MITSOP), Pune (2010)
  • Vishwashanti Gurukul CBSE School, Pandharpur (2011)
  • Bharatiya Chhatra Sansad, Pune (2011)
  • Edugild, Pune (2015)
  • MIT-ADTU, Pune (2016)
  • MIT World Peace School - Indore
  • MIT World Peace School - Latur
  • MIT World Peace School - Alandi
  • MIT-WPU Kothrud, Pune (2017)
  • MIT University, Shillong, Meghalaya (2017)
  • Avantika University, Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh (2017)
  • MIT School of Vedic Sciences, Pune (2017)
  • MIT Vishwaprayag University, Solapur